Turtle Foundation

Only with the support of more committed supporters can we give sea turtles a long-term chance of survival, help to protect the oceans as a natural habitat and, together with the local population, create a future in which sea turtles can live without man-made threats”.

Turtle Foundation

The Turtle Foundation is an international association of closely cooperating organizations for the protection of sea turtles and their habitats. The Foundation is primarily operational and currently runs three sea turtle conservation projects in Indonesia and one in the Republic of Cape Verde. In addition to the direct protection of the nesting beaches by rangers and volunteers, the Turtle Foundation carries out accompanying measures such as local and international educational work, environmental education and help to secure the livelihoods of the local population in the project areas.

The history of the Turtle Foundation goes back to the year 2000, when a handful of committed private individuals on the island of Sangalaki in Indonesia started a project to protect the endangered green sea turtle after they experienced the professionally organized predation of the nests of the highly endangered animals during a diving holiday. This was the birth of the Turtle Foundation. Since then, the work of the organization has steadily developed and become more professional.

From January 2002, thanks to their commitment on Sangalaki, a complete ban on egg collection was achieved and a protection station was put into operation from which local rangers monitor compliance with the collection ban throughout the year.

In 2008, the second protection project for the loggerhead turtle on the island of Boa Vista in the Republic of Cape Verde was launched after up to 1,000 adult female turtles were killed each year on the beaches during the nesting season.

In the course of research into the consumption of turtle eggs and meat, the organization discovered a nesting beach of the rare leather-back turtle on the Indonesian island of Sipora in 2017. This is where the third beach protection project came into being, as the huge, hardly explored animals are highly endangered by poaching of nesting females and their nests.

For the first time in the history of the Turtle Foundation, the organization is also conducting a nationwide information campaign to combat the trade in turtle shell products made from the horn scales of the hawksbill turtle in Indonesia starting in summer 2019.

We are proud to support the Turtle Foundation in its mission to protect this fascinating animal species and its habitats. Sea turtles have been on our planet for about 150 million years, and it is now up to us to make sure that we are not the biggest threat they have ever suffered.

Anna Fink, founder uncutbread

Turtle Foundation

Nur durch die Unterstützung engagierterer Unterstützer können wir Meeresschildkröten eine langfristige Überlebenschance  geben, einen Beitrag zum Schutz der Ozeane als natürlichen Lebensraum leisten und gemeinsam mit der lokalen Bevölkerung eine Zukunft schaffen, in der auch Meeresschildkröten ohne menschengemachte Bedrohungen leben können."

Die Turtle Foundation ist ein internationaler Verbund von eng zusammenarbeitenden Organisationen zum Schutz der Meeresschildkröten und ihrer Lebensräume. Die Stiftung ist in erster Linie operativ tätig und unterhält derzeit drei Schutzprojekte für Meeresschildkröten in Indonesien und eins in der Republik Kap Verde. Zusätzlich zum direkten Schutz der Niststrände durch Ranger und freiwillige Helfer führt die Turtle Foundation begleitende Maßnahmen wie lokale und internationale Aufklärungsarbeit, Umweltbildung und Hilfe zur Sicherung der Lebensgrundlagen für die einheimische Bevölkerung in den Projektgebieten durch. 

Die Geschichte der Turtle Foundation geht zurück bis ins Jahr 2000, als eine Handvoll engagierter Privatpersonen auf der Insel Sangalaki in Indonesien ein Projekt zum Schutz der bedrohten Grünen Meeresschildkröte starteten, nachdem sie während eines Tauchurlaubs den professionell organisierten Raubbau an den Nestern der stark gefährdeten Tiere erlebten. Dies war die Geburtsstunde der Turtle Foundation. Seitdem hat sich die Arbeit der Organisation stetig weiterentwickelt und professionalisiert.

Ab Januar 2002 wurde dank ihres Engagements auf Sangalaki ein komplettes Verbot des Eiersammelns erzielt sowie eine Schutzstation in Betrieb genommen, von der aus einheimische Ranger die Einhaltung des Sammelverbotes ganzjährig überwachen.

Im Jahr 2008 startete das zweite Schutzprojekt für die durch Wilderei massiv bedrohte Unechte Karettschildkröte auf der Insel Boa Vista in der Republik Kap Verde, nachdem dort jedes Jahr an den Stränden während der Nistsaison bis zu 1.000 erwachsene Schildkrötenweibchen bei der Eiablage getötet wurden.

Im Zuge einer Recherche zum Konsum von Schildkröteneiern und -fleisch entdeckte die Organisation im Jahr 2017 auf der indonesischen Insel Sipora einen bis dahin der Fachwelt unbekannten Niststrand der seltenen Lederschildkröte. Dort entstand das dritte Strandschutzprojekt, da die riesigen, kaum erforschten Tiere durch Wilderei an nistenden Weibchen und deren Nestern stark gefährdet sind.


Erstmals in der Geschichte der Turtle Foundation führen führt die Organisation zudem ab Sommer 2019 auch eine landesweite Informationskampagne zur Bekämpfung des Handels von Schildpatt-Produkten in Indonesien durch, die aus den Hornschuppen der Echten Karettschildkröte hergestellt werden.

Anna Fink, founder uncutbread: 

Wir sind stolz darauf, die Turtle Foundation bei ihrer Mission zu unterstützen, diese faszinierende Tierart und ihre Lebensräume zu schützen. Meeresschildkröte sind seit rund 150 Millionen Jahren auf unserem Planeten, und es liegt jetzt an uns, sicherzustellen, dass wir nicht die größte Bedrohung sind, unter der sie je gelitten haben.

uncutbread_design_turtle graupng